Deerskin: Chapters 25 – 36

Classmates be warned: if you haven’t finished reading Deerskin, the rest of this post contains discussion of the story’s ending. It’s a good read so you might want to make sure you’ve read it before continuing to read this.

Anyway, I really liked the ending of Deerskin. I was hoping simply for the fairy tale happily ever after with a prince, but this was even better than that.  I love that we see Deerskin face her father and reunite with Ossin, and that the story manages to include both magic and believability. I especially like that Lissar is at last able to share her true self and true story and that even with this huge step she is not magically back to being the young, innocent girl that she started as – Lissar’s strength is impressive, but at the same time we still see that she has not shed her old wounds. I really like this aspect of the story because it’s so inspirational – if Lissar can survive her ordeals and find a way to live her life, surely we can fight to overcome the challenges which we face in our lives, too. I also really like that magic helped Lissar through her troubles rather than solving them for her.

Aside from its more than satisfactory ending, I also just genuinely liked reading Deerskin. This was the type of book that I didn’t put down for long, because I was constantly curious about what would happen next. McKinley did a great job of pacing the story and keeping the reader’s attention – and I also really like the values that the story seems to encourage. From Ash’s bond with Lissar, we see the importance of loyalty and friendship. We also see the importance of helping others and of accepting help as Lissar travels. Further, we can also see that Ossin and Lissar do not seem to fit perfectly into their worlds – but that they fit together nevertheless, which is something I love to see in stories, because who really feels as if they fit in all the time? Finally, and probably most importantly, Deerskin also shows us that perseverance enables us to survive just about anything – although I’m less convinced of the truth of this statement outside of fairy tales, I would really like to believe in it which I think is why I found Lissar’s story so captivating.

Leave a Reply

